AAMBC Awards!!!!

aambc_logo_14sm

So far my life as a blogger has been pretty uneventful. It doesn’t pay well right now so I never get to really GO anywhere. My cousin recently wrote a book, I have yet to read and therefore nothing to review but she’s been traveling to promote it and I was puzzled at how she was finding out all of these events were taking place when I hadn’t even realized they’d existed.  Biting the bullet I swallowed my pride and asked her,

“How are you finding out about all of these things?”

To my surprise she answered with Instagram, and of course it was something so brazenly simple as that. A social media site previously reserved only for my hideous selfies was going to be the vehicle to drive me to my golden ticket. But i’m a writer, and Instagram is for Photos right?

Surprisingly there are tons of apps which allow you to post text in photo format. The app I use for example is Textgram  but there are loads.

God Don't Like UglyI began posting pictures of my writing and of books that I enjoyed my own personal library of novels. There is an entire world of people like me, bookish, fantasy nerds drooling over the next 5 book series. I’ve never been more tickled. So i’m sure this is the part where you ask,

“Hey Noel, didn’t you mention something about an awards ceremony and an Acronym??”

 

Yes I did….

 

In following that very simple peace of advice I posted a photo of one of my FAVORITE BOOKS EVER!!!! Its a series actually apparently one I am 2 books shy of completing. The God Don’t Luck Ugly series was one of the very first books I read as an adolescent and the story has stuck with me through adulthood. Without giving too much of the story line away because you definitely SHOULD read it! It follows the trials and struggles of Annette Goode and consequently as a result the life and journey of her best friend Rhoda. The two go through a lot together but always seem to weather the storm. My praises for the book on Instagram of course got me invited to the above mentioned ceremony and what an amazing weekend it will be.Mary Monroe

The African Americans on the Move Book Club was created in February 2008, by Tameka Newhouse; the annual AAMBC Literary Awards was later launched in 2009.  Initially the ceremony was to provide exposure for unknown writers offering acclaim through one of many awards. It has since evolved into a weekend of fellowship for writer’s in each phase of their careers from reading enthusiasts to full fledged Celebrity panels. This year Mary Monroe author of the God Don’t Like Ugly  is being honored which is the primary reason for me going. Omar-Tyree But also in support of fellow philly writer Omar Tyree author of the Flyy Girl series and my own personal favorite the book Diary of a Groupie. It’ll also be pretty amazing to hang out with other writer’s and hopefully I’ll even be able to find a few who write fantasy like I do.

The 2016 AAMBC awards  will be hosted in Atlanta, Ga this year. A great excuse for me to hang out with some family.  If you have yet to buy tickets click here ! They may or may not be sold out

Be Sure to follow me on GoodReads by clicking here!

One thought on “AAMBC Awards!!!!

  1. It was a pleasure meeting you. I try to make sure that I come and support those who have taken the time to support me. The other week at the AAMBC awards was very encouraging and reinforcing as an independent writer. To have the privilege of sitting amongst Omar Tyree and the other guys and share my journey was powerful. I encourage anyone who has a passion for something to take the risk and do it.
    Your personality was very refreshing and I wish you nothing but continued success as you navigate your way to where you hope to be.

Leave a Reply

