August Book – Flame in the Mist


I haven’t read this book just yet, but a friend told me it was a modern magical Mulan and I love Mulan.

Our leading lady Mariko, daughter of a prominent samurai and a cunning alchemist must  disguise herself as a peasant boy, after an ambush by the Black Chan bandits.

Mariko infiltrates the Black Clan’s hideout and befriends their leader,  Ranmaru, and his second-in-command, Okami.  She wanted to discover who wanted her dead, as Mariko gets closer to the Black Clan, she uncovers a dark history of secrets that will force her to question everything she’s ever known.

It definitely has made my to be read list and I’ll be scanning the libraries for copies. Amazon and Bookshout offer hard and paperback covers for under  $12.

Have you read this book before? What did you think? Will you be reading with us this month?

Leave a comment