Cruella de Vil Getting Her Own Origin Story in Cruella

Scrolling down my timeline a few days ago I noticed a new trailer featuring Emma Stone that has me losing my mind in anticipation. I’m always here for a good anti-hero story, villains happen to be my favorite kind of heroes. Anyone who knows me knows how much I absolutely love Harley Quinn and the DC rogue’s gallery. Dracula Untold gave me reason to believe in these origin stories, but Maleficent ruined it for me. Since then I try to gauge the reviews of my timeline before investing in a backstory no one ever asked for. So when I saw the trailer for Cruella I was optimistically cautious. Disney has been teasing the origin story of one of it’s supreme baddies since 2011. Finally, we get a sneak – peek at what the studio has been working on.

The character of Cruella de Vil first came to fruition in the 1956 novel The Hundred and One Dalmatians written by English author Dodie Smith, (the character of Pongo is named after her very own Dalmatian of the same name.) Cruella is a deranged London heiress, hell bent on creating a Dalmatian fur coat. Her reasoning behind the insanity? Puppy fur is much softer than mature dog fur.

The character’s screen adaptation in the Disney animated movie saw her voiced by actress Betty Lou Gerson (Disney Legends) the animated character was modeled after the mannerisms and personality of heiress, Tallulah Bankhead and physically drawn to resemble model Mary Wickes. Her most notable adaptation came in the 1996 live – action Disney Movie 101 Dalmatians. Close reprised the role in the sequel 102 Dalmatians, solidfying her as my favorite Cruella to date.

Cruella has been married to a furrier, been rich, been poor and she’s even been hospitalized for being criminally insane. Her pursuit of the spotted puppies has given us the song “Cruella de Vil” and she has even made an appearance in Disney’s Once Upon A Time, as a witch with a magical gift for controlling animals. Always seen sporting her two – tone hair and maniacal proclivities. The character of Cruella has long been symbolic of greed, vanity, evil and depravity.

I’m looking forward to seeing how the origin story sheds light on how the mad heiress came to be that way. Check out the trailer below and tell me your thoughts on the upcoming Disney project.

Check Us Out Each Week for Articles Like This and Many More

What Movies Are You Looking Forward To Seeing this year? Leave a Comment Below!

You can keep up with me, Noel Bleu and Blu Moon Fiction on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, GoodReads and Pinterest, or Shoot me an email @ BluMoonFiction@gmail.com

Leave a comment